Contact Us
Email Us
Brochures
Customer Login
Your Basket
Saved Products
Delivery alert thin
Dunster House Ltd.
Incorporated. 1994
Search results
Lines re-open tomorrow at 8:30AM
Delivery alert thin
  • Black Discounts
  • Price Match Promise
  • Black Discounts
  • Price Match Promise

Customer Reviews

Lantera Log Cabin Ratings
Martin Hood
Jan 08, 2019
Overall very good product and good company to deal with. Delivery as promised - friendly and helpful.Very comprehensive instructions and more materials (trims, screws, handles) supplied than actually needed. I made a few improvements to the basic cabin (retired carpenter) - proper timber base (I felt the bearers supplied were not really up to the job), and new window and door drip bars (ones supplied were far too small). The biggest problem by far was installing the brackets that hold windows and doors in place - virtually impossible to install as per instructions, Much better to disassemble the frames and put in sideways, as with the optional extra door which I purchased. Even then each bracket had to be trimmed with an angle grinder to make them interlock. Other than that, the cabin is very solid, well manufactured, straightforward and a pleasure to assemble. And with only minimum planing to apexes to get perfect roof board fit, I have not needed any of the internal trims to hide roof gaps - there are none. Overall, well inmpressed, as is my wife who now has her own craft workshop.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
1
1
View Product
Raymond Waskiw
Nov 01, 2018
fantastic product more than happy with my log cabin would highly endorse dunster to any one
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Mr and Mrs Porter
Nov 06, 2018
I’ve had no issues at all with this company, the log cabin we ordered seems very sound and although as always with a natural product you get some natural variations in the appearance, (some minor splits and cracks), overall the product is of very good quality and is a good price for the quality. My husband is a boat builder so is used to constructing and fitting timber and he is also impressed with the quality of this cabin. The delivery crew were lovely, very friendly, helpful and polite and the cabin was delivered as expected when tracking the order using the online map tracker. We’ve not quite finished our build yet, it’s taken a few days to get the sides and roof up and painted (and it is watertight) but I am very pleased with it so far. Thank you Dunster House.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Ian Brown
Nov 07, 2018
I ordered a 4.5m x 2.5m cabin without reading any reviews on Dunster House and purely on the merits of Martin in sales knowledge and professionalism. However after reading the reviews and parting with my cash I began to get squeaky bum as most reviews were negative. Day of delivery came and I could not fault the two guys that made the drop and laid out each part in my garden ready for us to begin the build (paid £90 and was well worth it) they even gave advice on what to watch out for and how to start build which proved very valuable advice. I am not going to say it’s easy to build as most of the work is in the detail ie roof , floor and building what is going to be know locally as an epic bar in my garden however if you are like me and enjoy building and the sense of achievement you won’t care. I believe anyone that has left negative feedback is likely a DIY novice and would probably have genuinely had issues however this is not down to Dunster House. Gaps will be there and warps are on boards however this will settle and if a hurricane strikes I would imagine it will fall down however I must say it’s only built well if you are capable of building it well , Martin in sales and the two guys delivering won’t be able to help you build it well that is down to you I am afraid . Good luck!
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
P Wittcomb
Nov 09, 2018
Excellent service delivered on time with all parts. Now that it has been built and painted looks fantastic Thanks
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Ian Birrell
Feb 28, 2019
Great product, paint exterior facing logs prior to assembly and the end grain, Not something you can construct on your own unless you are a joiner or carpenter or skilled DIY.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Valerie Sperring
Oct 09, 2018
This log cabin is fantastic very well made great to assemble. It looks so Good that a friend has ordered one as well could not be more pleased
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
John Benney
Jul 24, 2019
Excellent product straightforward assembly, yes there were a few boards slightly warped and a couple of the roof boards one of each size had damaged tongues but you get a spare of each size to allow for that. Ultimately remember it is wood and these things happen. Delivery very good, had the main structure completed in 2 days then required a day to fit the shingles (well worth having and a day to paint. There must be something bad I can say... oh yeah it doesn’t build itself. Great product thank you Dunster House.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Paul Swann
Oct 11, 2016
Great purchase it was very straight forward to put together. Love it.And it did just take one day for the main assembly
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Mr Garry Baker
Feb 28, 2019
This the second time I have used Dunsterhouse my first was for the bottom of our garden and my family love it and this time I have gone for a cabin come workshop for light. I really enjoyed putting it all together myself everything went well highly recommend this company
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Paul Valpy
May 28, 2019
top notch service. the log cabin was easy to construct , the instructions comprehensive and the quality really was quite good. we are very pleased with our cabin. the delivery was on the day arranged and the men were cheerful and helpful. first class , thank you.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Del .
Jan 09, 2019
very good and helpful company, why can't so many more companies be like this
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Pauline Killick
May 30, 2015
Thank you so much for the excellent service from buying our lovely log cabin to the delivery man who was so helpful, and as for the three men who erected the cabin, we cannot praise them enough, they were thoughtful, curtious and very helpful! Even though my husband said they ate his sausage sandwich! Thanks again, we would certainly recommend the company and lovely service with the staff.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
1
0
View Product
CustHOWARD SLIGHTSomer
Jan 11, 2019
Excellent business. No queries are needed.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Alastair Struthers
Oct 25, 2016
A superb cabin. Bought as an artists studio and it fits the bill perfectly, a great size, very light and warm, even in the north east of Scotland, with all the insullation options fitted. The kits was very easy to put together with just two people and ordering and delivery was a doddle. I'd be happy to recommend a Dunster House cabin to anyone.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Lindsey Damsell
Aug 16, 2016
I love my log cabin it's much better than the one I had before because of the thicker logs and the double glazing, I use mine as a gym.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
CAROLINE HARDING
Aug 15, 2019
Brilliant. Really good quality products at reasonable prices
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Mark .
Dec 10, 2018
I ordered the Lantera 45mm Log Cabin online and it was easy to obtain the correct cabin and extras. I got a great deal with 15% off the original price. The cabin was delivered with 3 weeks. I did request if Dunster House staff could install the log cabin but I didn't have a clear 1metre around the circumference of the log cabin so they declined my request. Health and safety I expect. Anyway, The log cabin was constructed and I was very pleased with the quality of the log cabin. There was an issue with the doors not closing properly which appears to be the bolts for the doors. I contacted Dunster and they send another pair of bolts. The new bolts arrived the next day and the bolts were fitted and the doors are now fine. Great customer service, great quality of the product and great prices. Thanks
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
W Amuthan
Aug 30, 2019
Very good quality very helpful customer service good price
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Lynne Jordan
Aug 30, 2019
all good excellent in fact but instructions are a bit of a tricky process... volumes and not all relevant to our particular product but have to read all in order to know what is relevant and what is not.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
P H
Jan 28, 2019
After looking around I thought the Dunster House product appeared good quality and value for money. The staff on the phone during the initial enquiry and the ordering process were all very helpful. There was no hard sell or push for add ons, they just made reasoned comments for what you might need or might not. For the delivery I had only requested one driver, fortunately another order that day had requested the driver and helper. There was a lot more timber than I expected and I was pleased for the extra help. My 4.5m x 2.5m Lantera cabin was a snug fit, but I wanted to maximise the space. As a result I had to make adaptations to the assembly process. Such as laying three logs then reaching from the inside to treat the outside. Also preassembling roof trims and fastening to the roof and fitting vents prior to assembly. Although the instructions were very good I thought certain aspects could have been slightly clearer. Some of the longer logs had a slight twist but I managed to lever them straight and into position. I built the cabin myself from start to finish over a period of a month which was longer than I thought would be. It was hard work at times but very satisfying on completion. One window trim was shorter than required. On contacting Dunster House they send out a replacement straight away. One door had the hinges in the wrong position so I had to move them. My cabin is excellent and ideal as my garden workshop. It’s strong and solid. The doors and windows are great quality. A friend bought a similar size cabin from another company. Theirs doesn’t look anywhere near as good a finish as mine, more plywood shed than log cabin. They got the other company to assemble theirs but it still cost two to three times the price of mine. My initial thoughts were correct that it was good quality and good value. I would have no problem recommending Dunster House, for service, delivery and product and if I ever need another, Dunster House would be the first place I looked.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
1
View Product
A Guile
Oct 11, 2018
An excellent product with clear assembly instructions and a quality product for the price. We purchased the 2.5m x 4.5m cabin and it’s perfect.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Mac .
May 31, 2019
Ordered a log cabin for the garden. Good price, delivered on time and went together easily with clear instructions and accurately machined wood - 2 of us did the bulk of it in a weekend. Definitely handy to have a second pair of hands for the bigger beams and doorframe. A couple of months on and it's survived snow and gales with no issues.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
V Mazzarelli
Mar 12, 2019
Excellent customer service, driver very helpful, easy to put together would highly recommend
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Tom Ellis
Jul 05, 2016
Very pleased with my new garden office and even more happy to know that I actually built it and painted it. Up until now I'd only ever done IKEA builds, and this was a big step up but one that I managed, thanks to planning, having the right tools and a getting a buddy to help me. A local firm prepared the concrete base for me, and my delivery was a two-person delivery to the site, which came a week before I started the build. I bought a big tarp to cover the wood while it was raining and spent a full afternoon going through all the timber and parts, checking them, getting them in order and getting familiar with how the build will go. I bought the key tools - clamps, mallets, spirit level, hammers, a driver/drill, saw, tape measure and a ladder and started work on a friday afternoon. The walls and apex were up in 3 hours, very easy apart from a few slightly bent pieces that needs clamps to push them into place. Next was the roof... which took a lot longer (a whole day for 2 people) as mine was 4 layers... the ceiling slats, insulation boards, membrane and then lots of felt tiles and glue. So much hammering! The floor was also a lot of hammering but was a lot easier, even with insulation. Finally after 2 and a half days, it was built and water-tight with windows and doors in place. The following weekend it required another 2 and a half days to paint it with 3 coats using a sprayer system. I wish I'd got someone else to do that. For value for money this can't be beat, but the instructions for construction are pretty ambiguous and we were left scratching our heads a few times, even though we're pretty smart people. Customer Services were good to email back when I had questions on the construction, but having to wait a day for a response can be frustrating if it halts all progress. I hope Dunster House put some effort in to improve their instruction pack. I'd have paid £50 more for better instructions. Fortunately the youtube videos of construction were quite good.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
2
0
View Product
Dunster House reply
Dear Tom. Thank you for your review and your feedback. We will take it all into consideration. We are extremely glad that you are happy with your product and that you found our construction videos to be useful, as we have done them to help our customers with small details and building issues.
Sabaratnam .
May 28, 2019
Very happy with the product. The installation instructions that I received was not very helpful. Especially as to how to get started. Once I figured it out, it was easy to assemble. Good value for money.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Gavin Legg
Jun 10, 2015
Great product well made look forward to spending many hours of enjoyment.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
T Manga
Aug 23, 2019
Another Happy Customer
All staff friendly and informative despite my indecisiveness but I’m happy with the Lantera log cabin I selected. Definitely worth going to the showroom to get a feel for the size of log cabin required. Delivery tracker precise and team turned up on time, unloaded professionally so I made them a cup of tea . Would definitely order again. Thanks.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
2
View Product
Neil Kirk
Sep 02, 2016
Cabin is great - high quality and now it's finished it looks superb. The process of getting there was somewhat of a challenge and the building of it was made more difficult by the instructions not being appropriate for a complete novice (like me). It was a week between getting the wood and putting it up (with it taking a few days to get the foundations right) and despite the base being as it should be some of the beams had twisted and were a struggle to lock in. The video on you tube on how to build it was invaluable and an even longer version of this for beginners would be handier. I'd certainly recommend it to others.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Dunster House reply
Hi Neil. Thank you for your review and your suggestions. We will take them into consideration but we do alert all of our customers that they need to have enough experience in DIY to build one of our garden buildings.
Chris C
Oct 15, 2018
The cabin is really good quality, delivery was on time and delivery team helpful. All the parts were in good condition but some of the instructions are a little unhelpful/unclear which causes some confusion in the build. That said now it's up we wouldn't change it for the world and when I broke a part the replacement process and delivery was really good. Would definitely recommend Dunster House.
View Product
Was this review helpful?
0
0
View Product
Subscribe to our newsletter!
Subscribe to our newsletter!
back to top black banner