Dunster House Ltd.
Incorporated. 1994
0
Search results
Lines re-open today at 8:30AM

Case Studies and Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews
Overall Product Rating
View selected products
Log Cabins
Summerhouses
Garden Offices
Climbing Frames
Greenhouses
Sheds & Storage
Garages
Pergolas
Arbours
Shelters
Gazebos
Planters & Trugs
Barbeques
Outdoor living
Humanitarian
Extras
Thatched Gazebos
Hot Tubs
Saunas
Garden Furniture
Cocoon
Canopy Gazebos
Rabbitopia
Man Caves
SkyWarren
Fence Systems
Outdoor Gym Equipment
BunnyBunker
Chunky Offices
Rabbitat
Evil Hutch
Rabbitopia Lite
The Bunnery
Warmalog Cabins
Chicken Coop
Log Store
Case studies Scroll down to see reviews
PremiumPlus Rhine Log Cabin W4.0m x D3.0m
Absolutely delighted with my Rhine log cabin installed today by Marcin, Fred and Paul of Dunster House. Best quality installation work and product I have seen of any cabin displayed anywhere including other manufacturers costing much more. From James at Basingstoke taking our order right through to today's slick installation I couldn't be more pleased. Fuller review on Trust Pilot.
Jane Barber - Sep 18, 2017
Premium Rhine Log Cabin W3.0m x D2.0m
Great product more than happy with the finished result
Rob Hampton - Sep 17, 2017
PremiumPlus Modetro Log Cabin W5.5m x D4.5m
This is my second review of this product, the cabin has been up for 2 years now & still looks amazing. We've not had any problems at all, it's never leaked, the timbers have not warped or twisted, all windows,doors remain fully operational & weathertight, it's probably the best addition to our home we've ever made. It's used all year round as a games room, a pub, a place for family celebrations or simply a place to get away from the hustle n bustle of modern living. It houses a bar with built in fridge, full size pool table, dart board, flat screen TV with surround sound, record deck ( for those retro evenings ), sofa bed, led electric heating & lots of curios the wife won't have in the house. Many thanks to dunster house I cannot recommend this product highly enough
Chris Hoole - Aug 14, 2017
Vantage 220 Summerhouse W2.2m x D1.9m
This is review of the Dunster House 2.2m x 1.9m summerhouse, We chose a black shingle roof and Cornish cream paint. Having considered several alternatives we settled for The Dunster House summerhouse. As we were restricted for space we decided against the 2.5 x 2.1 due to the roof overhang of 9" and 12" in each corner which should be factored in to the overall measurement. The summerhouse arrived in sections some of which are quite heavy and require two persons to lift. The materials used are fairly substantial and the instructions are easy to follow. Having the right tools and a knowledge of DIY is an advantage. My only criticism is the fitting of the metal roof housing and ball. I chose to purchase a threaded metal rod from B&Q for £4 which attaches to the ball and fits perfectly through the metal roof housing and brass looking bracket that holds the purlins, secured with two nuts from the inside. Roof shingles are supplied by IKO , their website has some useful hints. We encountered no issues with customer services, any query we had was dealt with in a friendly and helpful manner. The summerhouse was delivered ahead of schedule, is well made and an attractive addition to our garden. We are very pleased with the overall results and are glad we made this choice.
Gareth Jones - Sep 18, 2017
Valiant 350 Summerhouse W3.5m x D2.5m
We are extremely pleased with our Valiant 350 Summerhouse that was erected in one very hot day by the efficient team from Warminster. Dunster House fulfilled all their commitments promptly and courteously and kept us informed at all stages. Their range of products and competitive prices are unparalleled. I strongly recommend them.
David Wise - May 28, 2017
Vantage 190 Summerhouse W1.9m x D1.69m
We were very impressed with the ordering, delivery and advice provided, and the summer house is of good quality and a welcome addition to our garden. One minor point is that the door will not stay closed unless the key is used to lock it. Probably requires some adjustment by the person who erected it for us.
William Harris - Mar 19, 2017
Lienne MKIII - Left W5.0m x D3.9m
Easy and clear instructions provided, but DO study them well (for at least a week!) and thoroughly understand them before starting. Make early decisions of where downlights and electricals are going to go, as it is then easy to make provisions/run/hide cables as you progress and before the floor and ceiling go in. Would also recommend organising the pieces around the site, so they are easy to identify and 'appear' in roughly the right order - hunting through a heavy stack to find a buried critical piece is not fun! We did take ~6 person days to properly prepare the space, level the ground and run the armoured electrical and data cabling in first, then 2 person days to assemble and level the bearers on the RapidPads. The rest of the structure took 8 person-days (using two/three competent-ish, but not massively strong people!) to complete the external structure and weatherproof it. Tip : The 11 large wall panels are very heavy and awkward to manoeuvre, and especially when aligning and 'slotting' together, and you desire to keep your fingers - we used some old rubberised grab rails screwed temporarily to the outside cladding to provide the lifting power (2 folk lifting, one "steering"/"persuading" the panels to lock together). Engaged a plasterer to skim the inside, then after plaster had thoroughly dried (5 days), completed the internal work (apply trims, coving, painting, downlights, trunking, sockets, and finally, floor covering.
Andy Daw - Jan 13, 2017
Piccolo W2.2m x D2.2m
A fantastic product with easy to follow instructions. It's been a great addition to the garden and I look forward to writing inside come christmas.
Victoria Warner - Oct 25, 2016
Lienne MKIII - Right W3.8m x D2.7m
As an architect with 40 years experience, I took my time researching a building that I would be proud to invite my clients to visit as well as give me independence from the house. The joys of finally giving up the constant trudge into the City and back each day, losing 5 hours of my personal time. The Lienne ticked all the right boxes and I chose to self build with an extra window to look out over both garden and side orchard. I am overjoyed with the result and have received many admiring comments from friends and clients alike. I believe two friends are going through the process of submitting orders. I was surprised to the amount of kit even down to finishing plaster and rubber gloves. Pluses: Once the base is laid. I chose slabs. 1. Easy erection although some sections will require help of two others 2. Hardly any cutting required Minuses: (Criticisms actually) 1. All parts need stickers identifying the parts in relation to the instructions. I spent a day and a half measuring all the individual parts and stacking them as required. 2. There is no clear instruction as to fitting the glazing bars when fitting the Windows. It's a case of mastering the knack, but when I phoned for help I was told that they could email me back. Not weary helpful when half way through 3. Ceiling may well need trimming Tips: 1. Buy yourself an impact driver, you will be forever in love with it. £85.oo well spent 2. Seal any gaps between floor and walls with expanding foam, before floor finish. 3. Borrow a 3m square straight edge for lining up.
Dave Cregan - Sep 12, 2016
DUNSTER HOUSE REPLY
Dear Dave. Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are really glad that you are happy with your Garden Office. We will take into consideration the points you've mentioned.
SquirrelFort Climbing Frame W4.1m x D3.3m
My 7 year old granddaughter loves her new climbing frame it looks good and we are very pleased with our purchase . . . Quick delivery and took two people to build less than a day Overall we are very pleased with our purchase.
LESLEY TATE - Sep 12, 2017
FoxCub Climbing Frame W3.0m x D1.8m
Great, good value product. Very pleased with the quality, the instructions and the assembly kit. Only 1 potential issue for some is that it is not very high (tall) limiting the swingability as the swing rope is not very long. That said, not an issue for out 5 and 7 year olds. Customer service superb.
Ian M - Sep 04, 2017
BalconyFort Searcher W4.7m x D3.8m
Our two children (5 and 3) absolutely love their climbing frame! They are out playing on it for hours. The balcony is fantastic as they have a great view over the garden and hop fields (and pretend they are pirates!). There is also plenty of room there for them to put some of their toys. The slide is the perfect size and is slippery enough to give them a thrill everytime they go down it. My 5 year old has mastered the monkey bars and my youngest can easily get up the steps to the balcony on her own. She's a little bit too small to try the monkey bars but it won't be long until she can. The swings are perfect and they love being able to swing at the same time. Underneath is a little area that they treat as their 'den' which also shelters them from any rain that is lurking . It took my husband only a few days to put up (on his own I must add - although he does think he's the incredible hulk!), and we couldn't be more pleased with our purchase.
Bethany Fernihough - Aug 19, 2017
Tranquillity Greenhouse W2.4m x D1.2m
First class. Very helpful delivery team who helped put everything in the garage. Instructions very clear and when I did have a problem the staff provided help straight away. Thank-you
KEITH rounding - May 28, 2015
Mini Greenhouse W1.2m x D0.6m
The complete process starting from obtaining details of the Mini Greenhouse prior to purchase the ability to track the delivery , the way the green house was packaged , the quality and finish of the component parts, and the way it all fitted together was excellent. It took me about 7 hours to build it . I am very pleased with the completed green house and look forward to using it in the new year
David Gill - Dec 21, 2014
Yankee C Low Shed W3.05m x D4.8m
The Yankee C Low Shed is Superbly manufactured, with all panels accurately sized and consistent. It assembles without difficulty, but the instructions are sketchy and vague in parts and need improvement for raw DIYers. I built mine onto an accurately sized solid concrete slab, omitting the bearers, ensuring no chance of them rotting over the years. I have only two criticisms. Firstly, the window glass is not bedded in sealant, so water weeps around the glass and wets the internal frame. Secondly, if you go for the shingles option, the roof pitch is way below the angle recommended by the shingle manufacurers and no underfelt, so would probably leak in high winds. A bad error. Mine has 25mm insulation added on top of the roof boards and then covered in EPDM rubber roofing, which has a life of 50 years. For appearance only, the shingles are then adhered to the EPDM using Hertalan KS143 adhesive with no nails penetrating the EPDM. If you go this route, the correct adhesive and method is essential with this combination of materials and I'd advise asking Hertalan for guidance. My shed has a third joist added to give an even spacing and horizontal framing members added all round, continuing that already on the window panels. This gives better support if you wish to insulate the walls with cavity insulation and panel them internally. All in all, then, a very sturdy, solid shed which can be made brilliant with a few additions. I'm pretty certain that it will outlast me with no leaks or repairs required. My only complaint is that it was heavily reduced in price a week after I paid for it and before it was delivered. That's not the way to encourage repeat custom.
Stuart West - Jun 29, 2017
Taarmo Heavy Duty Log Shed W1.8m x D2.4m
Excellent sturdy shed, easy to construct. Requires two people to build at certain stages.
Graham Smith - Mar 14, 2017
Birgi Pressure Treated Shed W2.44m x D4.2m
very happy with my purchase, clear instruction manual easily erected by myself alone.
gary morrison - Sep 27, 2016
Trent Lo-Roof Wooden Garage W3.05m x D5.5m
You might have sold a shed to a friend of mine, Paul Turner, on the strength of a recommendation by my housemate. Another local guy watched us erect the garage and thinks he wants one. Everyone who has passed the back of the house on the private lane has commented on how nice it looks. We have finished the main construction in one eight hour day and just need to put the shingle roof on, and then do the windows and doors - and of course stain the outside three times and use a pukka varnish on the inside. Can't wait for the cabin, which I need to sort with you in a few days time. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction and making the purchase worry free. It is rare to find a company that does exactly what it says... So, here's to a happy garage and what will be an amazing cabin. The furniture is ready, the floor coverings are planned... it is going to be great to see the Sun, rather than be in the office, which only gets a bit of sunshine in the afternoon.
Geoff Wiles - Oct 24, 2016
Trent Garage W3.05m x D5.5m inc Metal Door
Very pleased overall with Dunster House and the quality of the garage. The erection and delivery team were all very professional and the garage looks superb. I would be quite happy to let anyone who wishes to buy a timber garage come and visit me with prior warning and view the completion of this project.
dave atkins - Sep 08, 2016
Deore Double W5.9m x D5.5m inc. Metal Door
Very quick delivery, driver very helpful. The garage went together very easy and quickly. No problem with the assembly. Did most of the build on my own. Help need with the apex lift and main front to rear roof timbers. Every thing you need to build it supplied and the instructions are very easy to follow. Already had a stranger stop and ask where we got the garage from , his comment "beautiful garage".he took the details . Don't hesitate if your looking for this type of garage and look.
Brian Snowball - Mar 30, 2016
Utopia 300 Gazebo W3.0m x D3.0m
Absolutely love it. No leaks or fears it will fly away. Looks beautiful. Have to admit hired a couple of guys to assemble but well worth it. If you are thinking about a Gazebo this is the one for you. Looks massive but fits in really well.
Amanda Forshaw - Sep 17, 2017
Artemis Chunky Gazebo W3.2m x D5.1m
We spent a lot of time looking around at gazebos before settling for this one and we are certainly glad made this choice. This is certainly an impressive addition to our garden and we delighted with all aspects from the initial phone call to the sales office to the finished construction. Bought and erected in August 2017 we were initially given 6-8 weeks delivery. Not a problem. It was delivered 7 days later which did gave us a problem for storage and the groundwork hadn't even started but it gave us the impetus to install this before a family party at the end of August. Full marks to Dunster House for speedy delivery and two excellent and helpful delivery guys, well worth the extra service. In terms of erecting this, it is definitely a two man job at least. So me (62) and my son (30) set about it over the course of what time we had available to meet the end of August deadline. If you want the job done properly i.e. level, square and minimum of angst and maximum satisfaction then set yourself for these sorts of timings. We are not experts and this is the first gazebo either of us have ever constructed. It took 4 hours to get 90% of the frame up onto the footings we had previously installed. It took another 4 hours to get the frame finished and roof and 'other bits' done. Instructions that came with the parts did make sense if you simply take time to study it before hand. Then came the shingles. This will take the two of you a full day at best on a roof this size because you have to line up every sheet square on and in line with the rest and nail it to the board. A nail gun may help but we only had a hammer and you have to go in sequence as you move along. Alternatively, you could employ a couple of blokes to do the job for you. The end result though, when done properly, is well worth it and we are pleased as punch with it. We have already dined more times alfresco under the gazebo since it was built than we have all summer. The bottom line is that I now have to go about getting a much bigger table as the one we have looks like a pimple in the vast space underneath the roof according to my wife! A small price to pay indeed so be aware that installing this gazebo may lead on to other things. Well worth it and a big recommendation from us to buy this gazebo from Dunster House. Money well spent. Points to note/suggestions/ fly-in-the-ointment. Use an impact driver if possible for the screws and the bolts. If the hole for the fixing isn't pre drilled, then make a pilot hole especially for the smaller pieces at the top of the roof. For the roof boards, I am sure this will be obvious to some, spend 20 -30 minutes laying them out from the shortest up to the longest. There should be 8 of each. This way you can pick them up in sequence and the time spent doing it this way saves a lot more if you just scrabble around - see photo The finials at the bottom of the posts could have been finished better so that it looks like the post and finials are made from one piece of wood instead of square cut and looking like add ons - which they are. That's a personal and subjective observation. Could have done with half a dozen more sheets of shingles as it would have meant that we could place single shingles along the roof ridge. Not being experts in this form of construction a few more spare would have helped but fair play to the QS at Dunster House as there was no other wastage. We have edged the roof with plastic rain deflectors so that any rainwater that runs down the roof and tries to run back up under the lowest shingle (as it will tend to do with shingles), will not get past the deflector and will fall into the guttering to be taken away. That way water is kept away as much as possible from the wooden structure and minimising any rot. Again on the subject of installing the shingles, a little more help and guidance would not go amiss - the internet and you-tube is fine but hints and tips from the manufacturer would have been preferable. But in the end we got by and didn't need technical help over the phone.
David Catanach - Aug 30, 2017
Utopia 200 Gazebo W2.0m x D2.0m
Love it really good value for money. My husband put it together in an hour. Couldn't beleive how quick it was delivered and delivery man really nice. Would recommend this company.
elizabeth fuller - Jul 04, 2017
Hope BBQ Stove W0.30m x D0.51m
Well made portable wood stove for camping, fishing or use in the garden or for taking out on pick nick outings. The big improvement this stove has got over the Frontier stove is the much improved chimney sections with a wider circumference to improve combustion and airflow. I chose the chimney pipe add on extras with bends to allow the stack to exit out the side of an open bell tent. The side warming plates are great for added hot surface tops for keeping cooked food warm. Overall, probally the best portable wood burning stove available, being the most efficient and at a very competitive price. Get one!
Robert James - May 10, 2016
Hope BBQ Stove W0.30m x D0.51m
Purchased the stove for some Hot Tenting (winter camping) The stove has been used three times now and warms the tent up in about ten minutes from very cold to oven temp. It is very good also for warming and cooking on the top plate. The stove is highly recomended for winter camping and outdoor activitities.
JONATHON SPURR - Dec 09, 2015
Hope BBQ Stove W0.30m x D0.51m
With all respect to Dunster House and their Hope stove, I came upon this product because of my experience using my friends stove, the better know 'Frontier' and whilst looking for the best price on a Frontier discovered that there was an alternative in the Hope. After much debate and analysis I was persuaded in favour of the Hope on price, because it was under £100 compared to the Frontier at £153. All I can say is now it has been delivered the Hope is every bit as good as the Frontier, better built in some areas, not so in others, overall I would rate it on par with the better known unit. The Hope's lower price and hot plate extension were the two factors that persuaded my to take a punt and now I have the stove all I can say is I have no regrets. If you are reading this at a time when the Hope is 'normal price' then it is a close call, still cheaper than a Frontier and with the hot plate extension, the Hope may well be for you. It terms of 'which kit' to buy, it's really simple, the short kit is stand alone for outside use where as the full kit includes flue bends, brackets and an insulated double skin section for use in a shed or tent (properly ventilated of course). I use mine outside as a stand alone whilst camping so only needed the short kit. Martin
Matrin Donze - Sep 27, 2015
x3 Glamping Cocoons W3.0m x D3.0m
We have two on our camp site Mill Park Touring Site in north devon and hope to buy another three this year, they are great my customers love them and come back year after year Each one as paid for its self in one year,10 out of 10 Thank duster house
Steve Hill - Feb 06, 2013
Composting Toilet MKI
It's fantastic very professional you designed & made Bit tricky to assemble at first. We've not connected solar yet. It's nicely seated in france on our lake Thank you
Mags Swaine - Sep 28, 2016
Cabin Corner Bar
Brilliant from start to finish, call to say when delivery date was confirmed, text to say delivery on way, easy to construct.
Danny Waley - Feb 14, 2017
Cabin Corner Bar
Found this item at Dunster House. Exactly what I was looking for and very reasonably priced. Delivery was speedy for such a large item, received 3 days after order. Easy to read assembly instructions and put together by myself within a couple of hours. Looks great in my log cabin.
Spencer Stevenson - Dec 20, 2016
Cabin Corner Bar
Excellent bar and great value for money
Bill Jobson - Aug 30, 2016
Bongani Thatched Gazebo W3.3m x D3.3m
LOVE IT! EASY TO ORDER. DELIVERY TO HOME EASY WITH THE MOST HELPFUL LADY. LOCAL BUILDER FRIEND ERECTED IT FOR ME IN A FEW HOURS. HE SAID IT IS VERY WELL MADE AND PRE DRILLED. A WELL THOUGHT OUT KIT. IT IS SO GOOD THAT I INTEND TO BUY ANOTHER EARLY NEXT YEAR.
LESLEY HARRIS - Sep 14, 2016
Dingane Thatched Gazebo W2.8m x D2.8m
its now 4 months since erection, the weather has not helped however still impressed would buy from dunsterhouse again
alan smith - Jun 23, 2016
Dingane Thatched Gazebo W2.8m x D2.8m
firstly may i say how impressed i was with both the drivers and installation team. Very polite , very professional nothing too much trouble. the structure itself was very sturdy and looked exactly as the photograph. I would recommend dunster house to all and sundry. No complaints whatsoever. 10 out of 10.
alan smith - Feb 03, 2016
Akira Canopy Gazebo W3.1m x D3.1m
Great product and excellent service Very easy to install The only complaint would be that some of the fasteners on the curtains are the wrong way round And the top of the curtains requires additional fastening as they blow open a little at the top but I will see in some extra fasteners I would not hesitate to recommend
Jenny Sullivan - Sep 13, 2016
Ava Canopy Gazebo W3.1m x D4.1m
We use this for a cover for our hot tub enclosure all year round rain or shine we are in our hottub great build and quality
Brian Webb - Sep 19, 2015
Ava Canopy Gazebo W3.1m x D4.1m
I am delighted with the canopy. The delivery was on time and the delivery crew were very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed building the canopy and it looks great in my garden.
Kenneth Edge - May 28, 2015
Pennines Full Picket Fence
very pleased with purchase, thank you.
christine mandley - Nov 11, 2016
Pennines Full Picket Fence
1. Delivery Very friendly and efficient delivery guys who put the panels exactly where I wanted them. The tracking service was especially helpful. 2. Quality Picket fence panels: Very well made and I especially liked that the palings were affixed the rails by screws rather than nails. As the fence needed to go up a slight slop this meant I could align the rails to the gradient and by undoing the bottom screw of each paling I could then swing them back to vertical and get a perfectly aligned sloping fence without stepping the panels. 2. Posts: These were of very high quality with radius edges.Buyers who are thinking of using Met posts with these should know that they are 70cm and the Met posts you get from B&Q etc are for 75mm posts so they're a bit too big. I used Postcrete which is a better method anyway, especially in a garden with Chalk beneath,as mine is. Dunster products are by no means the cheapest but I'm of the age where "buy cheap buy twice" is my maxim, and the quality of these materials assures me that I'll never have to replace this fence in my lifetime!
Phil PLATT - Oct 15, 2016
Pennines Full Picket Fence
This fencing is exactly what we were looking for and was very easy to attach to the posts once they were in situ. They are very sturdily made and can be adapted to go down sloping drives by removing 2 screws at each end, getting the angle needed and replacing the end screws in the new position. We are very pleased with the fencing and think it looks great. It is a pity that you don't make a similar fence painted white as white picket fencing is very popular. I am attaching a photograph of the completed fence.
Peter Swarbrick - Sep 28, 2016
Bunnery W1.85m x D1.85m
Recently adopted two rabbits (Netherlands dwarfs) and the adoption criteria was very strict, upon viewing the bunnery the organisation was trilled to bits with it. I was looking for something longer lasting and safe for them. This fits the bill. Very easy to construct, fantastic design, my rabbits love the steps, think it is a game! They have plenty of room and lots of space. This is easy to clean with wipe down surfaces., Well worth the money. Hopefully I can enjoy my rabbits for years to come in this wonderful hutch. Highly recommended.
Steph Cooper - Mar 28, 2017